Last year, when I first learned of National Novel Writing Month, I was too late to participate and frankly, too busy.  I swore that next year, I’d do it!  How fun?!  Write 1,666 words per day and have a 50,000 word novel completed in one month!  Sounds easy, right?

Wrong.

I was wrong.  It’s not easy.  Unless maybe you don’t have 3 kids, no full-time job that is over an hour away in commute time, you have a significant other to run errands for you, or to cook, or clean, and no dog to walk so you can think of what to write about.  Even if one didn’t have my busy lifestyle and just lived alone in the woods with no time table or agenda other than to write 1,666 words per day, I still don’t think it would be easy, but it would be doable.

However.  That’s the point.  The point is to challenge yourself to do more than you otherwise would have.  I know I’m not going to win the contest or be ready to publish in December, but truth be told, I have made more progress on my little project than I would have had I not joined NaNoWriMo.  It’s made me think about how to structure my story, how to develop the characters, and when to interject dialog as opposed to narrative, etc.

It may take me 5 years of NaNoWriMo’s to finish it, but at least it’s challenging me to think about it!

If a story is in you, it has got to come out.

-William Faulkner

VoltaireQuote

 

 

Leave a Reply

