I rarely remember my dreams..the ones I have while I’m sleeping, that is.  However, last night I had one that woke me up and made me cry and long for my mother.  She is a beautiful angel now as she was beautiful beyond words when she was with us on Earth.  I miss her more than I can possibly express.

My dream last night was a celebration of her, a blur of sunlight, flowing white dresses, lots of people bursting with love dancing in circles….around her.  She was smiling the biggest smile.  She was opening presents – lots of presents.  I wasn’t surprised to see a new, lovely pair of shoes in each box she opened.  She loved shoes!

I was swept up in the music and crowds swooshing around me, happy faces, singing to the heavens.  There’s really no other descriptive word I can think of other than “swooshing” because literally that’s what it was.  It was amazing.

I woke up, stunned that I could remember my dream.  I have my mother’s dream catcher in a corner of my room, maybe she caught it for me.  I remembered the song everyone was singing…it was Do Re Mi from the Sound of Music.  She loved musicals!

You know the one:

Doe, a deer, a female deer
Ray, a drop of golden sun
Me, a name I call myself
Far, a long, long way to run
Sew, a needle pulling thread
La, a note to follow Sew
Tea, a drink with jam and bread
That will bring us back to Do (oh-oh-oh)

Another memory hit me just then.  Last night, before bed, my youngest daughter was struggling with motivation to practice piano.  She was feeling challenged as it gets more difficult to remember all that she’s learned so far.  So, maybe the songs are too challenging.  Maybe she could try something a little easier, but fun to play and sing?

…Maybe she could learn to play Do Re Mi.

Thanks Mom.

R.I.P.

sound-of-music

3 thoughts on “dreams and do re mi…

  1. Hi, I just came acress your blog. We’re taking the same Blog101 class now. Just wanted to say lovely, very lovely story – thank you so much. I like your blog a LOT and will be popping in now and then. I too, live in Seattle.

    Dusty

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

