I joined Deepak Chopra and Oprah’s 21-day meditation challenge in hopes of finding a way to incorporate meditation into my life.  With all that goes on in the world, all of the crazy violent things happening around us, the stress of daily living, worrying about the kids, feeling lonely, feeling like a victim, wondering how I’m going to get through the week and have enough food to eat, trying to be a champion, trying hard to move up in life….I believe and have come to realize that I just need to find inner peace.  That’s all I can rely on in troubling times.  No one outside of myself is going to calm my soul.  I can’t always get that hug I long for and reassurance that it’s all going to be ok.  I don’t have someone there at all times to tell my problems to.  It’s on me.  It’s all internalized.

As many people have expressed their shock and disbelief, the suicide of Robin Williams has also affected me.  I think about how he was the same age as my Mom.  It’s so strange how people leave this Earth.  My Mom fought hard for her life.  She hung on as long as she possibly could and wasn’t ready to go.  There was so much she wanted to see and do, watch her grand-kids grow up, travel, make beautiful things, dance, etc.  While someone like Robin Williams who appeared to us as having everything one could possibly want, money, fame, beautiful children…laughter…bringing joy to others….just had enough.  It’s so hard to wrap my head around.  For both, I hope they are truly in a better place.  They have both found peace, along with the countless others who are now gone from this terrible, tangible world.

Yet, with all that is terrible, there is also beauty.  With hate, there is also love.  With tragedy, there is hope and happiness.  There is an Igbo proverb that says, “when one things stands, another stands beside it.”  It’s very true.

Here’s a quote from one of Robin William’s movies:

“Please, don’t worry so much. Because in the end, none of us have very long on this Earth. Life is fleeting. And if you’re ever distressed, cast your eyes to the summer sky when the stars are strung across the velvety night. And when a shooting star streaks through the blackness, turning night into day, make a wish, and think of me. Make your life spectacular.” – Jack

IMG_00000404

Today’s meditation was on finding inspiration.

How do you find it when you don’t feel it.  What inspires you?

Shum is the Sanskrit mantra.  The centering thought is “I am filled with Spirit.”

Shum

Shum

Shum

Repeated over and over with my eyes closed.  Deepak instructs to contemplate the centering thought…

I am filled with Spirit.  I am filled with Spirit.  I am filled with Spirit.

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

